Home > Music, Poetry, and Philosophy > The Choice Between Piss and Pleasure

The Choice Between Piss and Pleasure

October 20, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I just learned a really good lesson in human interaction. People always give excuses for not doing things. They always put up fronts and rarely tell you the real reason for doing things.

Well I always have a hard time with my emotions; they always over power my logic. I always jump to conclusions and I’m quick to just get angry and give people an ultimatum.

But today I did a good job while texting this girl… I was getting a irritated but I decided to step back and try to FIND the problem then GO AROUND or PROVIDE ALTERNATIVES to the problem…here is the text chain.

Me: Hey hey

Her: Hello

Me: Stoked for tonight?

Her: Yes! Ha ha what time?

Me: You want to come up around eight?

Her: Sure and this is an odd request but can my friend and her dog come too?

Me: Ha ha you have to be kidding me?

Her: No she has been out of town and I miss her and she gets back tonight but she will wanna are her puppy he is so cute an little!

Me: Ha ha… Well I understand your friend is back… I don’t want you to ruin your friendship by not hanging out with her

Me: But I’m not really into three somes and animals

Her: We’re just watching a movie and she is hotter than me

Me: What’s your real issue here?

Her: Nothing she is like my other half and haven’t seen her since wed so I’m having withdrawals

Me: So if I say I really just want to hang out with you are you going to be ok seeing her later tonight or tomorrow?

Her: Well she gets home around 6 so I’m going to see her before I just thought it would be nice to invite her.

Me: No I got ya. And it’s a good idea… But I just want to get to know you first…Cool?

Her: Ha ha that’s fine can we do like 830 then?

Me:Ya money…

So at first I thought she was just scared to come over because she didn’t know me very well and people in Utah are extra careful to the extreme. But it seemed genuine so I tried to satisfy both of us by compromising. This is something I’ve been working alot on and trying to figure out how to do better.

You see normally I would have said something like this…

Her: Sure and this is an odd request but can my friend and her dog come too?

Me: Ha ha you have to be kidding me?

Her: No she has been out of town and I miss her and she gets back tonight but she will wanna are her puppy he is so cute an little!

Me: Well we made plans so you can go hang out with her if you want and we can do this some other time…

OR

Me: Well that’s awkward for me so you need to make a choice because we had plans

OR

Me: Ya she can come (and that would be the worst choice of all…dog shat all over my carpet and some other chick and her talking all night…or worse the chick is cuter and then this girl hates me because I actually pull off the switch)

So reading these other responses that I though of sending I am already creating an assumed answer in my head and I am forcing her to a choice, instead of letting her give and take from both decisions to appease the whole.

In the end though I kept my cool and tried to compromise with her. Which is very difficult for me because I get so angry. Now the reason I get angry is because I always assume someone is trying to blow me off, which I apparently hate and also need to learn to deal with.

So we’ll see how it goes. The victory here is always sweeter than the reward haha…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

